Overture No. 1

Ariana, First Year Medical StudentToday marks the beginning of a *insert cliche here*.  Yes, medical school is long, hard, stressful, and often overwhelming. Am I ready? I sure hope so. But med school will start whether I’m ready or not. Am I scared? Yes, I’m terrified, but I’m trying not to let myself think that. Mind over matter right?

My summer (sadly, only 6 weeks) was incredible as I traveled through Europe and back home to Philadelphia.  I definitely needed that respite to recharge after an insanely busy senior year in college. But now it’s time to get back to business. Reality still hasn’t set in that med school will be my life for the next 4 years (hopefully).

At the same time, I’m excited to start a new adventure.  There will be bumps along the way but I will look forward to the friends and the fun. Tonight is our white coat ceremony where we will be given our coats to walk around the hospital with during our first two weeks of clinicals.  I’ll finally get to feel like a real med student!

This entry was posted in 1st Year by Ariana. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ariana

I'm a first year med student at Loma Linda University in southern California. I love the beach, snowboarding, traveling, chasing food trucks, and playing cello, just to name a few. My philosophy is that if you want something badly enough, you can and will get it (possibly with a few bumps and bruises along the way).

2 thoughts on “Overture No. 1

  1. Ariana, I just came across your blog while doing research for an article I’m writing. I enjoyed your thoughts on the strenuous academic pressure first-year med students face. Best wishes for the successful completion of your education and a great career!

Comments are closed.