The Beginning

20110804-20110804-DSC00741
“Welcome to Loma Linda University, Class of 2015”

Ariana, First Year Medical StudentNew beginnings are always exciting. There is that anxiousness about entering a foreign environment scattered with unfamiliar faces, expectations, and routines. You look around and you don’t really know where you are. Names are flying in one ear and out the other.  It can certainly be frightening but I kinda like new beginnings. It breaks you off of the old redundancy and adds some spice to life. New faces means new friends, experiences, adventures. Some say the first year of med school is equivalent to being thrown into a den of lions or pack of wolves. I just hope these animals don’t bite.

Last night, we finally reached the moment that signals the beginning of our journey. Who knew a coat could mean so much? The speaker told us what the coat meant to him as he shared his experiences which included losing his middle finger on his left hand when it was crushed by a boulder.

The rest of his talk gave me a glimpse of hope since he, like me, took only the core sciences (bio, chem, o chem, physics) required for med school. He went on to graduate at the top of his class and receive awards in residency and the rest of his career. One of my biggest fears is that I am not prepared enough academically and that I will be shell shocked by the amount of work required in med school. For now, I’ll just have to hang onto the words of the speaker and “believe in yourself.”

Dr. Anugerah? I kinda like the sound of that.

This entry was posted in 1st Year by Ariana. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ariana

I'm a first year med student at Loma Linda University in southern California. I love the beach, snowboarding, traveling, chasing food trucks, and playing cello, just to name a few. My philosophy is that if you want something badly enough, you can and will get it (possibly with a few bumps and bruises along the way).

One thought on “The Beginning

  1. Dr. Anugerah, I just want you to know that I believe in you. Thank you for your posts! Thanks to you, I have the privilege of enjoying the medical school experience vicariously through the eyes of a 1st year med student. I’m so proud of you and am excited for you as you begin this new chapter in your life. Remember, God is there for you and will guide you every step of the way. If He puts you to it, He’ll get you through it! 🙂

Comments are closed.