Greetings

Tamara, Fourth Year Medical Student“Hi! My name is Tamara.  I’m a student doctor here, and I’ll be helping take care of you today. What brings you in?”  This is a typical start to a conversation with a new patient.  It has several key components, which are necessary to starting a new relationship.  Let’s take a closer look.

First, I must identify myself – Tamara.

Then I must clarify my level of training – student doctor.

I state the nature of our relationship – I’m taking care of you.

Finally I must set a direction of our conversation – what brings you in?

Although you, new reader, are not my patient, I will be taking a similar approach to our first encounter.  My very first blog…hurray!

Identification – Tamara, fourth year med student extraordinaire.  When not studying, you might spy me learning to mountain bike, hiking San. Gorgonio, or salsa dancing.  Most likely you’ll find me talking, I can never resist a good chat.

Level of training – I am a fourth year medical student.  This means I have completed four years of college, 3 years of medical school, and have one to go.  When I graduate, I will be called Dr. Tamara.  However, I must train under a senior physician (Attending) for 3-9 years, depending on the specialty I choose to pursue.  This training period as a junior physician is known as residency.  I have never blogged before.

Nature of our Relationship – I am writing stuff for you to read.  If you have questions/comments, feel free to leave them in the comment box. I will try to tailor this blog to my reader demographics.  I imagine some of my readers will be junior medical students, I think more will be their parents.  I have no doubt my parents will be my most loyal readers (hey Mom!).

Direction of our Conversation – I tend to be a slightly eclectic person, so I suspect that will also be the nature of this blog.  Loma Linda wants me to talk about medical school, so I guess that will be a large part. 🙂

Anyways, it’s nice to meet you via the interweb, talk to you again soon!

One thought on “Greetings

  1. It was great meeting you and shadowing you in the ER the other day. Thank you for taking the time to explain things and give me advice. You are great and I wish you luck with everything. 🙂
    -Audris

Comments are closed.