Ready or not…..

Stephanie, Second Year Medical StudentWell, our actual classes started today (orientation was today)! It is hard to believe that the summer is already over, but I finally feel ready to start back up again. This past week I took some time to wrap up some of the big parts of my summer research (although I still have some small things left to take care of, but I can handle that during school) and then I spent time just getting myself psychologically prepared for the second year of medical school. I really was dreading starting back up again before this past week, but a couple of things have really helped change my perspective.

First, I was reminded why I love being at the school I’m at: I was listening to some doctors describe interactions with the family of a patient. This family was filled with doctors that practiced at other various locations, but their approach to medicine was SO different. There is something about the whole person care that Loma Linda emphasizes that I just don’t think can be beat and I am SO thankful that I get the chance to learn from doctors that live it out in their daily practices!

The next thing that really helped turn my thinking around was a meeting I had for a group I am a part of on campus. During the meeting I mentioned just wanting to “get through” second year and get onto third year (I am REALLY looking forward to getting into the hospital/clinics). One of the group members then pointed out that I should maybe try to find some enjoyment in the process because after all, it IS a YEAR of my life……point taken.

And finally, I am all ready for school because of quite possibly the BEST last weekend of freedom I have ever had. I spent all day Saturday at the beach with some great friends. Then we came home and hung out with some other great friends (I might add while making yummy desserts and playing yard games, can’t beat that). Sunday was spent preparing for, hosting, and thoroughly enjoying a housewarming/back to school party for several of our closest friends. SO, I spent my weekend surrounded by some of the people who mean the most to me having a blast just hanging out. It was perfect and I feel completely refreshed and ready to hit the ground running every morning bright and early at 8 am! Ready or not?……I’d say I’m READY!

This entry was posted in 2nd Year by Stephanie McDearmon. Bookmark the permalink.

About Stephanie McDearmon

I am currently a fourth year medical student looking forward to entering residency in Family Medicine next year. I grew up in a small town in northwestern Illinois (Morrison) and have relocated to Southern California with my husband for the four years of medical school but plan to move back to the Midwest soon (aka for residency)! Some of the hobbies that I enjoy the most are spending time with my husband and our pets (a dog, Addison, and a cat, Blaze), dancing, running, and cooking.