Listing

Hayley, Second Year Medical StudentI personally believe that the best possible way to cope with med school is to make lots of lists – I make daily to-do lists, Christmas shopping lists, life goal lists, and of course, lists of everything from autoimmune antibodies to cranial nerves. Some days it seems like lists are the only way I can keep my head from exploding while still memorizing all the side effects of lupus and the enzymes found in gram positive cocci.

So here is a list I have made for you; a list of the highlights of living in Loma Linda that I have personally experienced in the last two weeks.

1)      Mountains: Last year I heard people talk about Mt. Baldy but I never got around to climbing it until this year. It’s only an hour’s drive from Loma Linda and all you need is a $5 adventure pass to park at the trailhead. You start at 6000 feet and the top is at 10,064 ft. The views are incredible, though the air is thin at the top. I hope I stimulated some BPG synthesis.

Devil's backbone trail on the way up to Baldy summit. They say it's not for the acrophobic.

2)      Sourdough bread: One of my classmates gave me a sourdough starter last year and it’s been providing me with fresh bread ever since.

Sourdough bread. It met with approval from the boyfriend and the roommate.

3)      Cheap produce! I know this sounds more like a chore than a highlight, but I find it so exciting to shop in Loma Linda! I love how cheap the produce is around here. Grapes for $0.87 a pound? Crazy!

4)      Sunrises over Mount San Gorgonio: Early morning is my favorite time of the day. Combine cool air, big mountains, a sunrise, and a walk to make a perfect start to my day.

Morning in Loma Linda

5)      Friendships. This sounds cheesy, but last week I was lucky enough to get the chance to hang out with my mentee from Project Hope last year. I met her when she was 17 years old and seven months pregnant. Now she is 18 and has an eight-month-old baby! We chatted and drank McDonald’s shakes while her son cheerily sucked on a napkin. It is amazing to see them both growing up.

Now that I’ve listed the highlights from the past two weeks, I’m heading off to make another list, but this one will be a list of all the sympathomimetic drugs that I should know. Bye for now.

This entry was posted in 2nd Year and tagged , , , , by Hayley. Bookmark the permalink.

About Hayley

I am Hayley, a second year medical student at Loma Linda University. I grew up outside of Seattle, in the small cow-dominated town of Carnation which is famous primarily for its breakfast products. I graduated from Wheaton College in 2010 with a degree in biology. When I am not studying (which is not very often) I enjoy running in the dark, eating sushi, doodling on my notes, and climbing to the tops of mountains. Some of the things and people I love include trees, rain, my family, my boyfriend Brian, green tea, grapes, and my friends in the class of 2014. Through this blog, I hope to provide you with a bit of insight on my life as a 2nd year med student; what I am learning, seeing, and realizing as I travel through this year of school.

One thought on “Listing

Comments are closed.