It’s Test Week!

Stephanie, Second Year Medical StudentIt was a LONG weekend……..and I have officially decided I have a love/hate relationship with test week.

I’ll start with a (perhaps obvious) explanation of the hate relationship.  Spending 8+ hours (8 as in the minimum) staring at my notes is an unbelievably daunting task.  Waking up each morning leading up to the exams brings a certain level of dread knowing just how much time I will be working on memorizing pages and pages of information (at least half of which I have been told BY PROFESSORS will never really prove useful to me I might add….).  I try to make it as enjoyable as possible, but there is only so much sitting still I can handle in one day.  Enjoyment usually comes in taking random pictures of my pets while they lay around reminding me of how cute they are and of how much I would love to join them (napping).

Wouldn’t want to dwell too much on the negative, so let’s move onto the positive side (the “love” relationship) of test week.  First, it is absolutely liberating not to feel compelled to go to class/lab/other school required events!  I love that I can schedule my entire day however I want and not feel like I am missing something important.  In addition, I have found that once I get through the days leading up to exams (starting the Friday before and extending through to about the day before the tests begin) I have plenty of free time!  I love being able to take care of all the things I have pushed to the “back burner” while studying, and I find time for mindless relaxation :).

One new way that I will be enjoying test weeks:  my roommate and I have officially decided to implement a cookie baking/movie night every test week!  I am super pumped about this and am looking forward to a good movie and some oatmeal scotchies tomorrow night :).

So, being an optimistic/see the good in stuff type of person, I am excited that test week is finally here.  Many of my classmates may not share this enthusiasm, but at least we all can look forward to a weekend off next weekend!

This entry was posted in 2nd Year and tagged , , by Stephanie McDearmon. Bookmark the permalink.

About Stephanie McDearmon

I am currently a fourth year medical student looking forward to entering residency in Family Medicine next year. I grew up in a small town in northwestern Illinois (Morrison) and have relocated to Southern California with my husband for the four years of medical school but plan to move back to the Midwest soon (aka for residency)! Some of the hobbies that I enjoy the most are spending time with my husband and our pets (a dog, Addison, and a cat, Blaze), dancing, running, and cooking.