Second Guessing

“You will not change your answers, go with your first choice.”

I repeat this to myself multiple times before almost every exam I have taken since high school. I even wrote it on my “whiteboard” earlier this afternoon.  I try to convince myself that going back and changing my answers will hurt me, not help me.  Yet, whenever I finish, I glance at the clock and determine that I have enough time to go over my answers, just in case I left anything blank.  Then it begins.

I talk myself into answers that made no sense when I first saw them, but after 80+ questions (and a growling stomach) every answer choice seems correct.  First I check to see if I missed a key word in the question that would completely change the meaning. No? Well, maybe I misinterpreted the answer choices.  Nope, I understood those all fine.  Well the question should not be this easy, so this cannot possibly be the right answer, therefore I must change it.   And I do.  Begrudgingly I must say, but I still do. Then I move on to the next question, and the process starts all over again.

Finally, I get a chance to go back over my notes, and what do you know?  I changed it to the wrong answer 95% of the time.  I send up a prayer so that I can end this cycle of self-doubt and resume my studies.  Of course the next day I repeat the same thing to myself:

“You will not change your answers, go with your first choice.”  Yeah, right.

This entry was posted in 1st Year and tagged by Marly. Bookmark the permalink.

About Marly

Hi! I'm Marly and I'm a first year student at Loma Linda University School of Medicine. I was born and raised in New Jersey, and received my Bachelor's from Seton Hall University. I love online shopping, possibly more than my love for all things Hello Kitty. I am also an avid basketball fan (go Celtics!). I'm not sure which specialty I want to go into, but I'm pretty sure that whatever I end up doing will most likely involve children.