Sweet Relief

Stephanie, Second Year Medical StudentTest week is officially behind us!  It’s always hard to calm down immediately after tests because there is a level of tension that remains until scores are in.  Unfortunately scores were not all up until today…..made it so hard to relax this past weekend!  BUT it was worth the wait :).  I am happy to say that I passed all the exams and am still standing.  The time off was short-lived, but it was nice this weekend to be able to take care of a few extra things that I normally have to put off.  So, now that we’re back at it all over again I have officially decided on a new gauge of how well I’m handling the balance between life and school……my plants :).

Those who know me well know that I am absolutely TERRIBLE at keeping plants alive.  Last year, for example, my mom gave me three plants to perk up our apartment as I started medical school.  Before we were even two weeks into the year, two of those plants were dead…….

Now, we have a house and my mom again came out and bought me TWELVE plants!  She is a bit of a risk taker, I guess :).  I will say though that the plants were bought in July, and I am still able to use them as a gauge for finding balance in my life!  SO….here are a few pictures of the recent blossoms that we have enjoyed in our backyard thanks to the beautiful plants:

…..and only one dead plant SO FAR – so I’d say life is going pretty well :).

This entry was posted in 2nd Year and tagged , by Stephanie McDearmon. Bookmark the permalink.

About Stephanie McDearmon

I am currently a fourth year medical student looking forward to entering residency in Family Medicine next year. I grew up in a small town in northwestern Illinois (Morrison) and have relocated to Southern California with my husband for the four years of medical school but plan to move back to the Midwest soon (aka for residency)! Some of the hobbies that I enjoy the most are spending time with my husband and our pets (a dog, Addison, and a cat, Blaze), dancing, running, and cooking.