Finding Time….

Stephanie, Second Year Medical StudentSo one of the things EVERYONE in medical school talks/complains about is how much TIME school commandeers.  There really aren’t enough hours in the day, and there probably never could be to feel fully on top of all of the material.  That being said one thing that I have held onto dearly while managing the first (and part of the second) year of medical school is the pomp and excitement of special occasions.

There are certain days throughout the year that have undeniable excitement inherently attached to them.  Some of those days include:  my husband’s and my wedding anniversary, the anniversary of when we first started dating, and our birthdays (just to name a few).  **Please note:  we make a pretty big deal out of close friend’s and family’s birthdays too 🙂 **  We try as hard as we can to celebrate these occasions on the actual day itself (or as close to it as possible).  SO…as you might have guessed, one of those is coming up!  Actually, it’s TWO!

Monday, October 10, will be my husband’s birthday and Thursday, October 13, will be my birthday!!  At first we were both a bit bummed that our birthdays are in the middle of the week, but because we like to enjoy “our days” we are working on finding ways to have some fun even with our busy schedules.  My husband likes to say that he gets a whole week of birthday festivities (while this is not entirely true, it will be somewhat true).  We are planning on taking time a couple of nights this weekend to relax and enjoy time together and with friends (and this includes what I’m sure will be a wonderful home cooked dinner made by our roommate and a delicious ice cream cake!).  In addition, we have a tradition that on our birthdays we get to pick out a special breakfast.  We have meals planned together for each special day (dinner for my husband’s and lunch for mine) and we just plan on living in the enjoyment of each day without worrying about what we maybe could be getting done.  It will take up a bit of our precious time, but I know it is worth it and that it will help us remember that we are human and do need to find time for a little “fun” in our lives – even if it is something simple.

(**side note for Dad & Mom:  YES, I am working extra hard this week to get ahead/on top of all my material so I am not really getting behind**) 🙂

So…..next week I will report on the hopefully amazingly relaxing and fun weekend (don’t worry I will study during the day, but the evenings I’m not going to worry about it).  My hope is that both my classmates and those coming up behind us will also realize that it is OK to take a little time for yourself (even in the middle of the week or in the middle of several weeks of material).

This entry was posted in 2nd Year, School and Life Balance and tagged , , by Stephanie McDearmon. Bookmark the permalink.

About Stephanie McDearmon

I am currently a fourth year medical student looking forward to entering residency in Family Medicine next year. I grew up in a small town in northwestern Illinois (Morrison) and have relocated to Southern California with my husband for the four years of medical school but plan to move back to the Midwest soon (aka for residency)! Some of the hobbies that I enjoy the most are spending time with my husband and our pets (a dog, Addison, and a cat, Blaze), dancing, running, and cooking.