Unexpected Surprises

Stephanie, Second Year Medical StudentWhile most of you are probably thinking that the title of this blog is a bit redundant, this is exactly what these past two weeks have been filled with, UNEXPECTED surprises…….

Most people know (or at least have SOME idea) when they are going to be surprised (pleasantly or not) by something, but these past two weeks I have been blind-sided by several things:

The first surprise came when I met face-to-face with a student I had e-mailed back and forth with throughout all of last year giving her insights into medical school and specifically into the world of bioethics to try to help her decide if she wanted to pursue a degree in bioethics before medical school.  We had always communicated via e-mail and I had no idea that she had in fact decided to work on a degree in bioethics at LLU!  She picked me out in a group meeting about bioethics and introduced herself.  It was pretty cool to meet her in person and to know that I was able to help give her insight and guidance in her decisions about her future.

The second surprise was a FABULOUSLY enjoyable week of celebrating birthdays!!  Now, I may have seemed overly confident that this week of celebration was going to go smoothly – but that was a bit of a facade!  I was secretly VERY nervous about getting the things done (ie: school work) that really needed to be done while still finding time to enjoy our birthdays as I asserted we would……but it ALL worked out!  We had a great time celebrating with our roommate and her husband (they made us the most fabulous dinner I could imagine, by the way!) and we took “time off” from our busy schedules to just enjoy the excitement of each of our special days.  So I guess that goes to show that it really is possible if you work hard to prepare for it :).  Here are some pictures of the festivities:  one of the ice cream cake and one of our bonfire!

The third and final surprise was an absolutely wonderful COLD :(.  Yep, I got sick the day after my birthday (I’ll say this, at least I am thankful it waited until the day after to impart it’s loveliness into my life).  It all started as a very strange and painful sore throat, progressed to a runny nose and incessant sneezing, and rounded out with a frightful cough.  Having a cold the weekend before the last week of classes before exams is not ideal, but I am VERY thankful it was not delayed by another week!  I have managed to get lots of sleep and still stay relatively caught up on studying and still feel like I can handle these upcoming tests.

So, all of these surprises came out of the blue and I am so very thankful for these little reminders of how amazing God is and the ways he can work in our lives :).  As we all gear up for another test week next week I’m hoping that resonates in my heart and mind and in those of my classmates as well!

This entry was posted in 2nd Year and tagged , , , , by Stephanie McDearmon. Bookmark the permalink.

About Stephanie McDearmon

I am currently a fourth year medical student looking forward to entering residency in Family Medicine next year. I grew up in a small town in northwestern Illinois (Morrison) and have relocated to Southern California with my husband for the four years of medical school but plan to move back to the Midwest soon (aka for residency)! Some of the hobbies that I enjoy the most are spending time with my husband and our pets (a dog, Addison, and a cat, Blaze), dancing, running, and cooking.