Myths About Pediatrics

Kari, Third Year Medical StudentHi friends. Doing all right? I know tests are coming up again, at least for second years, so good luck all. You have our prayers and I’m sure you will shine.

I’ve just finished my pediatrics rotation. Perhaps it’s a little dangerous for me to say this, because I don’t want to be called out by all the doctors I’ll meet on future rotations when I want to say “Oh yeah, I’m totally interested in Neurology” etc, but I’ve been 94+% sure I want to do pediatrics since before I started medical school.

I’d say I’m open-minded, but I also know what I want. And what I’m good at. Sorry I’m not sorry.

The pediatrics rotation is one month inpatient and one month outpatient, with the usual mock board and observed clinical exam at the end/interspersed a little. In those 8 weeks, I’ve experienced some truths to share:

Myths About Pediatrics:

Myth 1: You will get sick from the germy slimy kids. False. I feel great. I have felt great. No sniffles, no fevers. I thought I was getting sick one day…but no. Then again, I may be the exception.

Myth 2: Sick kids aren’t very cute. They’re whiny. Completely false. Sick kids are still adorable. Maybe this is just a sign I’m destined for this?

Myth 3: Parents are crazy. Not completely false, but parents are people too, and sometimes they’ll flip a lid over something that seems inconsequential, but to them it matters. Getting them on board with the treatment plan is 7/8 the battle to the kid actually getting better, so bite back the urge to yell back. [This of course does not apply to the actually crazy ones. Then we call CPS.]

Myth 4: Pediatricians are nice. Haha. Just kidding Dr. Kim. This one’s actually true. I was privileged to work with wonderful physicians both inpatient and outpatient. Even with those that were more on the strict side I could tell they just wanted me to learn as much as possible.

Myth 5: Pediatrics is an easy rotation. Outpatient it really depends on the assignment. Inpatient, well, it’s much improved compared to surgery or OB/Gyn, but hospital hours are hospital hours and into the hospital at 6 am is still a reality. Knowledge-wise it’s actually pretty challenging because there’s an extremely wide variety of things you have to learn. However, it may be the most I’ve enjoyed studying since started medical school, because I know I’m going to use it. 

Myth 6: Giving shots is no big deal. Giving shots isn’t supposed to be hard, and technically the steps (draw shot, alcohol swab, stick in arm or wherever, inject, bandaid) aren’t complicated. However, I had a kid reach around and pull the flu vaccine needle out of his own arm. Which really just meant I had to stick him twice. Poor kid. 

I’ll admit, I’m a little sad to be moving on away from what I like so much, but I’m trying to do it with an open mind and perhaps be surprised by what I like.

In the mean time, I took a couple hours this weekend to do other important things…like wedding dress shopping with my wonderful friends.

Me and Maid of Honor Katie, also a third year. See? Medical students have real lives too.

Heard any myths about one of the rotations? Did it prove to be true?

One thought on “Myths About Pediatrics

  1. I wish Myth #1 was really a myth for me. I got sick for the first time in a long time when I was on outpatient pads. Got Strep throat and was out for a couple days…. :/

    Glad you escaped healthy, though!

Comments are closed.