Goals

Tamara, Fourth Year Medical StudentHello world,

Sorry, I’ve been MIA on the blogosphere lately.  I suppose it’s because things have been moving slowly in the life of Tamara.  Most likely it’s the relative calm before the storm of interview season.  I’ve been quietly answering e-mails, scheduling interviews, and musing about life in general.

As the medical school phase of my life slowly comes to a close, I find myself reflecting on how I’ve handled the past 3.5 years, and what I see coming in my future.  This blog is fun, because I get to read the freshmen, sophomore, and junior entries, and marvel at how far I’ve come.  Have no doubt, medical school is one of the hardest things I have ever done.  Even so, I can only be grateful for this experience, because I actually believe it has made me into a better person.

When I was a freshmen medical student on my first day of orientation, I made one simple goal – to become the highest quality doctor I possibly could, the type of doctor to whom I could entrust the care of my own family.  I wrote my goal down, taped it to my study desk, and have looked at it all four years of medical school.  While I am not at that level yet, it is lovely to realize my certainty that someday I will be.

It may sound cliché, but I believe strongly in the power of goals.  Especially when they are written down and read everyday.  In the past few weeks, I have started to jot down my goals for senior year, and my life goals in general. Another important aspect of goals is accountability via sharing your goals with others.  I hesitated for a while about writing this particular entry, and balked at the idea of sharing my goals with you fine readers.  Why?  Maybe because some of my goals are silly, or perhaps they stretch quite far.  Or maybe I hesitated because deep-down I doubt if I’ll be able to do them all, and will be embarrassed if you knew I didn’t accomplish them.  However then I thought, why the heck not?  So here you go!

Some of my Goals for Senior Year:

  • Ski/snowboard at least 40 days.
  • Stick to a workout regimen daily.
  • Revamp my diet to a simple, healthy, inexpensive routine that will be maintainable in residency.
  • Continue improving my medical knowledge, study 6 days/week.
  • Become competent in self-defense (I’m a tiny girl who wants to travel the huge world, gotta have some skills).

Some of my Life Goals:

  • Be an on-site physician for the Olympics.
  • Be one of those doctors they use for supervising international transport of patients.
  • Live in Bariloche, Argentina (Spanish + snowboarding + tango dancing = heaven).
  • Work as a missionary for at least 2 years.
  • Be in a ballet dance recital (learning ballet now, this may be my most outlandish goal, I am the least limber person you know).
  • Motorcycle from the tip of South America to Canada (allowed to skip the dodgy parts).
  • Next to my grown-up house, build my own tree-house  (I never had one as a kid).
  • See the 7 wonders of the earth.

There you go, a few highlights.  Now that I put them on this blog, I guess I’ll have to do them!  Alright then, I’m off to ballet class…I love being a fourth year 😉