Holiday Blues

Ariana, First Year Medical StudentAs a music junkie, I LOVE discovering new artists and songs and building my collection. Since Thanksgiving has come and gone, the holiday music season has officially kicked into full gear. I’ll admit, I was listening to Justin Bieber and Michael Buble’s new Christmas albums back in October…

Wait it’s already December?? They say that time flies when you’re having fun. They should also say that time flies when you’re in medical school. It seems like we just finished taking our last set of exams when we have the next monster coming in a little over a week.

Panic-mode started up again this week as the stakes get higher. After going thru two tests weeks already, I should be fully comfortable and ready for the third, right? Well, in a perfect world…

Nope, unfortunately I am still scared, still worried, still stressed out.

This past Thanksgiving break helped focus my sights on the grand prize: Christmas Break. In medical school, breaks seem to last forever. It’s as if someone clicked the “pause” button on life and then started playing it forward in slow-mo. I’m the type of person who tries to get the most “bang-for-your-buck” in every aspect of life. Give me 2 days of vacation? I’ll pack as much “fun” into it as possible.

Since there are, in fact, 24 hours in a day, you might as well use as much of it as you can. So on Nov. 24 I ran a “Turkey Trot” 10K in Long Beach with a van full of fellow crazies, stuffed my face for lunch with relatives, went to Cabazon Outlets for “Black THURSDAY”, and then to cap it off, had an epic early morning snowboarding trip to Bear Mt. And that was just 2 days. The feeling of exhaustion that I was met with was oh so worth it, and a 13-hr sleep cured it all. This break was just what I needed to gear up and get ready for the final push of 2011.

bear mt

So what’s with the title? Well, December=Holidays and I don’t think any medical student is very happy with the thought of exams coming up. Pre-exam week brings out the worst in people, or at least me. Coffee takes the place of water, stress levels are sky-high, conversations are limited to as few words as possible, and there is that icky feeling in the pit of your stomach of “unreadiness.” But, here goes round 3 and this time we get an actual BREAK afterwards! ‘Till Dec. 16…