Life’s Given Me Lemons

Stephanie, Second Year Medical Student

As I look out the sliding glass door that leads to our patio I am currently staring at this:

Lemon Tree

Our lemon tree FILLED with lemons.  I mean dozens and dozens of lemons!  I have already mailed my mom a dozen, taken a dozen to a classmate, and brought 2 dozen home for Christmas.  And there are still more lemons than I can count without losing track…….so I decided to start doing something about that.  I am a BIG fan of Pinterest, so I have now accumulated several uses for lemons “pinned” to my account.  These include:  a lemon hand scrub (that I made using the juice from our lemons and then brought home for gifts from CA for our families in IL), lemon shake-ups, lemon bread, lemon cookies, and lemon muffins.

Lemon muffins

As you can see, I’ve taken full advantage of the lemons we have been “blessed?” with and am trying to bless those around me with their own supply of lemons (ie. if you want lemons, LET ME KNOW!).

I think in medical school is it important to be intentional about taking the time to find the “lemons” in life.  It’s easy to get caught up in the hectic/stressful nature of school work, but there are a lot of opportunities that present themselves as well.  One such opportunity is coming up for me.  This past summer I was blessed to have the chance to put my MA degree in bioethics to use by doing a research project with a well-known clinical ethicist and an amazing mentor.  After the project was completed he suggested I submit an abstract to a regional conference and I did so.  The abstract was accepted and I am now hours away from leaving to fly up to Carmel, CA, to do a presentation on the research we did (it’s a big medical student conference and several of my classmates are also going up for it).  The best part is that Carmel is an absolutely BEAUTIFUL area with LOTS to do.  SO……I’m taking the opportunity to get away and enjoy a weekend with my husband!  Of course I have done a lot of prep work to make sure I’m ahead and I am also planning on spending a good chunk of the time studying.  BUT I will be away from Loma Linda and all the other responsibilities that tend to dominate my life and Kendal and I can hopefully enjoy some quality time together (even if it is just a little bit of time).  I am VERY excited about this trip and will of course post pictures later :).

This entry was posted in Student Life by Stephanie McDearmon. Bookmark the permalink.

About Stephanie McDearmon

I am currently a fourth year medical student looking forward to entering residency in Family Medicine next year. I grew up in a small town in northwestern Illinois (Morrison) and have relocated to Southern California with my husband for the four years of medical school but plan to move back to the Midwest soon (aka for residency)! Some of the hobbies that I enjoy the most are spending time with my husband and our pets (a dog, Addison, and a cat, Blaze), dancing, running, and cooking.