Where Did February Go?!?!

Stephanie, Second Year Medical StudentIt has been SO LONG since my last post…..I feel a bit guilty (even though those in charge of this blog strongly encourage us not to feel compelled to blog, I still like to try to contribute on a regular basis 🙂 ).  So what have I been up to for the past month+??  Well, I’m glad you asked……..

In my last blog I mentioned going to Carmel, CA to present my summer research project.  Carmel was AMAZING, and I am very glad that I decided to go.  It was some additional work and a little bit of additional stress with the extra time committment, but the conference was really laid back, the area was absolutely gorgeous, and the time away actually helped me focus my studying.  A little taste of the area:

View from 17-mile drive

Driving along CA 1

The next big event in my life was the Surf City Half Marathon!!  Last year I got this crazy idea that I wanted to run a marathon.  So I did.  Last February I ran the Surf City Marathon in Huntington Beach, CA.  I finished…..and then I promised my dad that I would not run another full marathon while in medical school (he was extremely concerned about the amount of time I had needed to devote to training 🙂 ).  Unfortunately for him, I don’t “give up” easily.  So I decided to run half marathonS instead!  My first one was Feb. 5th at the same place I ran my first full marathon.  I finished the race in 1:46:28 and couldn’t have been happier :).

Showing off my medal!

After the half marathon, it was test time…..and more importantly ;)……..time to pick my parents and grandma up from the airport for their visit!  I was very diligent about studying for this set of exams because I had planned for my family to visit during test week (knowing I am normally much much more available during this time and would then be able to spend my “free” weekend with them).  It worked out wonderfully, and we enjoyed a fantastic week together!  We spent time enjoying the beautiful CA weather, visited Temecula (old-town area with lots of antique shops to enjoy), enjoyed the Huntington library/botanical gardens, and visited Joshua Tree National Park.  The week FLEW by, but it was so good to catch up with my family and to offer them some respite from the cold, snowy Midwest!

View from the highest point at Joshua Tree

The rest of the month was filled with a visit from our roommate’s parents (for Family Day for the first years), hosting a prospective student here for her interview (shout-out to Ashley – we LOVED having you stay with us!), and of course, lots of studying :).

So now it’s March!  There is so much to look forward to this month, and I couldn’t be more excited.  Tests are again approaching – next week to be exact.  In addition, we are preparing for a visit from my husband’s parents and lots of fun adventures with them over our Spring Break!  I’m sure March will pass just as quickly as February did and before we know it the school year will be coming to a close – a fact that makes me both happy and FREAKED OUT (maybe I’ll address that in the next blog, this one is long enough…..).  Bring on March!

This entry was posted in Student Life by Stephanie McDearmon. Bookmark the permalink.

About Stephanie McDearmon

I am currently a fourth year medical student looking forward to entering residency in Family Medicine next year. I grew up in a small town in northwestern Illinois (Morrison) and have relocated to Southern California with my husband for the four years of medical school but plan to move back to the Midwest soon (aka for residency)! Some of the hobbies that I enjoy the most are spending time with my husband and our pets (a dog, Addison, and a cat, Blaze), dancing, running, and cooking.

4 thoughts on “Where Did February Go?!?!

  1. Hi Stephanie,

    My name is Mike Corrao, and I’m the owner of MCAT Question of the Day, a free resource for pre-med students that prepares them for the MCAT one question at a time. In addition to MCAT questions, we also have an MCAT Wisdom section which features articles pertaining to test-taking strategies, pre-med life, etc.

    In an effort to expand our site’s offering to pre-med students, we’re building this cool new feature called the Pre-Med Magazine, which is basically an online magazine that will be distributed to our mailing list and will be publicized (hopefully) around campuses and such. I was trying to find a great way to organize our Wisdom articles into an easy-to-consume format, and I feel like this may be it.

    My question to you is: would you like to be a part of the first issue? I’d love to have you in it, as I’ve been reading you blog for quite some time now!

    Let me know Stephanie, I’d be really excited to work with you!

    Thanks,

    Michael Corrao
    http://mcatquestionoftheday.com
    michaelcorrao@ufl.edu

  2. Stephanie! Is there any way I can personally email you? I am a junior at a university who wants to apply to medical school! I am interested in Loma Linda and would love any tips or guidance you may be able to offer.

  3. Dear Stephanie,

    The team at Premed Network has recently come across your blog.

    I’m the President of Premed Network, a nationwide network of premed students.

    http://www.PremedNetwork.com

    The vision of Premed Network is to create a platform for the next generation of physicians.

    We are reaching out to select medical student bloggers to share their posts in our community.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Sincerely,

    Omar Baig
    President, Premed Network
    16180 Alum Rock Avenue
    San Jose, CA 95127
    (408) 802-5267

Comments are closed.