MATCHED

Tamara, Fourth Year Medical StudentAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! I’VE MATCHED! I have a residency!! It’s official, world – I am going to be a real, live, licensed medical doctor!!!

I can’t believe it.  I CAN’T BELIEVE IT! How is this even possible?!! It seems too soon for me to be all grown up – aka a matched fourth year medical student.

Monday, March 12th was the day all fourth year medical students longed for yet dreaded.  On Monday, we discovered if our four years of enormous effort have yielded success.  In a large way, Monday defined our future careers.

Allow me to offer you a lightning quick review of the match format – from October through February, I interviewed at various residency programs.  On February 22nd, I had to submit a final list of the residency programs where I would like to train next year.  On that same day the programs also submitted lists of their preferred applicants.  Then, a computer program matched up programs and applicants who made each other’s lists.

On March 12, 2012 I received an e-mail stating whether or not I had matched.  I wasn’t informed which specific program accepted me, just that indeed I am guaranteed a position in a residency next year.  If I hadn’t matched, right now at this very moment I would be participating in the supplemental offer and acceptance program (SOAP), which is this year’s format of the ‘scramble.’  The SOAP basically is a condensed, four-day version of the primary match, and allows programs with unfilled positions and unsuccessful applicants to find each other.

Now we are just waiting until Friday, March 16 when the final results of the match are released and we find out where we are going.

This is an awesome week for my class, can’t wait until Friday!

2 thoughts on “MATCHED

  1. You are better off you are fourth year. At least you are almost through with med school. I am just a first year in a certain med school in Kenya. I still have 5 years to go. With God’s help, i will enroll for masters in Loma Linda university. It has always been my dream to study there. All the Best in your studies.

Comments are closed.