Reflections

Laura, Third Year Medical StudentIn eight short weeks, my third year of medical school will be over. I cannot believe how fast this year has flown and how memorable it has been! Here are some reflections from each rotation:

1. Obstetrics & Gynecology

Delivering a baby was by far the most thrilling experience from this rotation. I enjoyed having the privilege of sharing such a precious moment with several families. It will not be soon forgotten. On a lighter note, I was reminded of just how “green” I was on this rotation when a baby was out of mom in a crash c-section before I could even get my second glove on. Oh well, practice makes perfect right?

2. Family Medicine

What a broad field! I truly enjoyed seeing a diverse population of patients everyday I went in to work. From 3 week old babies to elderly individuals with every medical problem in-between, it was all there. My favorite part of this rotation was the personal relationships formed. Family docs have the unique opportunity to oversee all of an individual’s care, not just one condition. I felt that this led to a closer relationship between doctor and patient, what an awesome benefit!

3. Internal Medicine

Wow, what an experience! Many medical students consider this to be the “meat & potatoes” rotation during third year where the most information is learned. I found this to be true. Although busy, the rotation was also quite fun for me both from working with great teams and from the patients I had the opportunity to follow. One patient in particular, Mr. C, was 98 years old and had served in WWI! Serving such individuals made both this rotation and the year as a whole worthwhile and reminded me of just how blessed I am to be in this profession.

4. Neurology

For this rotation I decided to have a change in pace and fly across the country to Kettering, OH. I am very glad I did! Kettering is not only a lovely city but the hospital there was also wonderful to work at. I also felt that it was a very good experience for me to branch out and see how other hospitals are run. The most memorable patient encounter from this rotation was getting to see Anton’s syndrome, a condition in which damage from a stroke renders an individual blind but having them still believe they can see. Although very sad such diseases remind me of just how intricate our bodies are made & of just how well we are at compensating after damage has occurred.

5. Psychiatry

Spending one week on the addictions unit and three weeks working with individuals battling eating disorders was by far the most memorable in this rotation. Although they may appear to be quite different I found both of these areas to be similar with the issue of “control” at their center. It was interesting to listen to the stories and to see just how much these problems can consume an individuals life. After completing this rotation I have a new respect for people fighting these diseases.

6. Surgery

Phew! This was by far the most difficult rotation for me. After completing it I can honestly say that I am not cut out for long hours in the operating room. I have a high respect for surgeons; they do amazing work. That being said, I will happily refer my patients in need of an operation to them during my medical career.

7. Pediatrics

The kids are adorable & they have such resilience! They are the best part of being on the pediatric rotation and I find that I am constantly smiling with them around me. I can’t wait to see what the rest of this rotation has in store for me.

This year has had its ups and downs but overall I am truly thankful that I am here in medical school and look forward to the opportunities that await me in the time to come.

One thought on “Reflections

  1. Dear Laura,

    The team at Premed Network has recently come across your blog.

    I’m the President of Premed Network, a nationwide network of premed students.

    http://www.PremedNetwork.com

    The vision of Premed Network is to create a platform for the next generation of physicians.

    We are reaching out to select medical student bloggers to share their posts in our community.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Sincerely,

    Omar Baig
    President, Premed Network
    16180 Alum Rock Avenue
    San Jose, CA 95127
    (408) 802-5267

Comments are closed.