My Good Samaritans

Last week I spent some quality time at the Good Samaritan sculpture. More specifically, I was in my professional attire for PDX lab, but doubled over with my hands and knees pressed into the grass. I had spent the majority of the previous chapel hour in the ladies’ room wondering if I had come down with the stomach flu or food poisoning. Then, I had tried to make my way to the library for EBM. I hadn’t made it very far before I was near tears from my stomach’s twisting and churning. I didn’t make it to the class. But, I did experience the patient side of health care on a Christian-centered campus.

While I was in the bathroom (I’ll spare you the unpleasant details), girls had called through the door asking if I wanted medicine, water, or a nursing student. On the grass, brown dress shoes had walked over asking if I wanted help to the ER. My boyfriend helped me carry my things and waited patiently for me as I took twenty-minutes to shuffle down the Centennial pathway, stopping for breaks at the stone tables. Classmates checked to see if I was okay, took notes for me from the class I missed, and even offered to go to their homes to get me nausea medicine. While people’s natural instinct is to avoid let’s just continue saying the unpleasant, these people were going out of their way to reach out.

After another session of emptying my stomach, I felt somewhat better––thankfully, it was not the stomach flu––and I decided to try stopping by my PDX lab. I didn’t have the energy to go to my car to retrieve my white coat and equipment, but Mrs. Dalida and my PDX instructor, Dr. Pulido, were very understanding and willing to accommodate. A classmate even offered to go to my car for me.

I am extremely grateful to all those who extended their help or even the comforting words. I experienced Jesus’ kindness through each of those people, and I am glad to be at a university that promotes, teaches, and guides its students to follow in Jesus’ footsteps of compassion and be Good Samaritans.