And So This is Christmas…

Paige, First Year Medical Student

“And so this is Christmas, and what have you done? Another year over, a new one just begun.”  The reality of these familiar Christmas lyrics hit me this year as I led tours of the medical school campus for new applicants.  It’s still hard for me to believe that just one year ago I was in my interview suit, nervously making my way through the halls of Loma Linda hoping to make a good impression on those who would determine my future.  Now, just one year later, I’m the one giving tours and telling potential new students about my experiences as a medical student.

Just like the song lyrics, the question on these new students’ minds is, “Now that you’re in medical school what have you done?” It’d be easy to answer this question with the simple reply: “I’ve studied a lot!!!”  While this is VERY, VERY, VERY true, medical school has been so much more than just studying.  Amidst all the hard work, I’ve had plenty of time to make some incredible memories with my classmates.  Here’s a quick look at some of the things I’ve been up to in addition to hitting the books everyday.

Playing volleyball and football intramurals…Female students pose for a group photo on the volleyball court

…going on a trip to San Diego after test week and visiting the zoo…
a group of students pose with a lion statue

…baking cookies…
Paige opens an oven full of cookies

…enjoying Sabbath lunch at one of our favorite local restaurants…
A group of students outside of Olive Ave Market

…bonding over girl’s night…
Several female students sit on a sofa in a living room

…camping under the stars…
four students outside in sleeping bags

…volunteering at the Kids Rock Christmas fiesta…
students pose in matching Christmas shirts

…dressing up in Christmas attire for our class Spirit Week…
Paige and Giovanna in a classroom, dressed up as a reindeer and an elf

…and celebrating the end of our last test set of the year with a class Christmas party.
two students decorate cookies

The question remains: “And so this is Christmas, and what have you done?”  Well, I’ve officially completed 1/8th of my medical school education, I’ve met some of the most incredible people I’ve ever known, I’ve had opportunities to serve and give back to my community, I’ve grown in my faith as I’ve learned how to care for patients in the context of faith, and I’ve created countless memories that I will treasure for the rest of my life.  This Christmas, I look back over the year and thank God for all of the incredible blessings in my life.