Some Thoughts of Match Day!

Christine, Fourth Year Medical Student

I just went through Match Day, and wow, it was a wonderful day!  My day started out when I woke up early without any alarm clock in anticipation of finding out where I matched.  However, I saw it was only 3am, so I tossed and turned until it was late enough to get up and get ready for LLU’s Match Day ceremony, which started at 8am.  I was so excited!

The ceremony was really nice.  Many students brought their spouses, families, and friends.  The room was packed.  The deans, Dr. Shankel and Dr. Wongworawat, would call students’ names to get their envelopes.  Before I got my envelope, I just felt excited.  I had already known I matched on Monday, but had to wait until Friday to find out where I would be spending the next few years of my life.  Honestly, I didn’t know exactly where I wanted to go, and I ended up changing my rank list many times before the submission deadline.  Since I only went on interviews at places I had already narrowed down to, I felt like I would be happy at any place I ranked.  It was just such an honor to be matched already!

So, after opening my envelope, I found out that I matched to: LLU for Prelim Medicine and UC San Diego for Neurology!  I was in shock pretty much the whole day.  I remember my interview at UCSD clearly.  It was one of my first residency interviews back in October, and I definitely did not feel like I had my best performance at that time.  In fact, I left the interview feeling like there was no way I would be able to match here.  The education, faculty, residents, facilities, location, and other fellow applicants seemed so amazing that I felt like there would be no way they would want me.  Of course, I still ranked UCSD hoping for a chance, and I matched!  I feel like I’ve gotten more and more excited as the day has progressed.  I was just so surprised that I matched there.  I guess it’s true that God already planned this out for me.  Also, I’m super excited to stay at Loma Linda for my intern year!

Later that morning, when the ceremony had ended, the UCSD program director called me.  I couldn’t believe this was really happening to me!

Later in the afternoon, my fellow matched friends celebrated at Fiesta Village.  We played mini-golf, laser tag, and go-carts.  It was really fun!

Wow, Match Day was so incredible.  13 hours after finding out where I matched, I felt like my face hurt from smiling and laughing so much!

I am so grateful to my family and friends who have help me in so many ways along this journey that is still continuing!

One thought on “Some Thoughts of Match Day!

  1. Pingback: My Secrets to 4th Year Success | Loma Linda University School of Medicine Student Blog

Comments are closed.