Year One DONE!!!

Paige, First Year Medical Student

I can hardly believe it, but my first year of medical school is over!!  After 9 months of classes, 6 test sets, a week of cumulative finals, and a final OSCE, I can officially declare that I have made it through year one!  As you may have noticed from my complete absence of blog posts since Christmas, the end of the year has been incredibly busy!  However, now that I am finishing up the year with a few weeks of clinical rotations through the hospital wards, I thought that I would finally take the time to recap the latter half of this year.

The most challenging part of this year was by far our last quarter.  We not only had our 6th test set which was cumulative over 5 weeks of course information, but that week of testing was then immediately followed by a week of 4 cumulative mock board exams in the subjects of Physical Diagnosis, Anatomy, Physiology, and Cell Biology.  I have truly never studied so much in my life, and if you ask anyone who knows me, that’s really saying something coming from me!  However, I suppose I should start getting used to such a rigorous schedule because 2nd year students tell me that 2nd year only gets more intense!  All I know is that it’s a good thing I have an 8-week summer break to recover.

Nonetheless, all that hard work paid off in a year of medical school successfully completed.  I was actually quite amazed at how well our classes and instructors had prepared us for our cumulative mock board national examinations.  It was a huge relief to know that I could stack up against other students from medical schools across the nation and “hold my own.”

Despite all of the hard work and studying, I still managed to have an incredible time forming new friendships and even stronger bonds with my classmates.  There is absolutely nothing that can compare to the sense of camaraderie and companionship that comes with going through intense struggles such as medical school together.  I am so incredibly thankful to have the support of such incredible classmates and friends through these trials.  Most importantly, I know that I could not have accomplished this journey without God’s guiding hand, and though it is easy to think that I did good job getting through this year, it is actually the result of God working in my life that has allowed me to come this far.

465322_10151550310379178_1277426820_oOur Class on the Last Day of Instruction

2 thoughts on “Year One DONE!!!

  1. Enjoyed reading your blog! I graduated from LLU Medical School in 1957! Sounds like nothing has changed.The first patient I worked up had severe Rheumatoid Arthritis. It took 4 hrs.by the time I presented to my Chief attending physician.Poor Lady was truly patient! I loved studying Medicine and still do at age 84. I know you will too as you continue your education. God Bless You and LLU. M Miller,MD.

  2. Congratulations! You have a wonderful blog and we are happy to hear that our University is teaching and treating you well. Keep up the hard work and we look forward to seeing you around town, and not in the hospital. No offense =)

Comments are closed.