The Last Word

Kari, Fourth Year Medical Student

For me, this is not an end, but a beginning.

It’s been a privilege to attend Loma Linda University School of Medicine the past four years and now I am moving on. I’ve moved to Albuquerque, New Mexico and very shortly I’ll start getting oriented to my Pediatric Residency program.

Before I say goodbye, I wanted to do a quick look back at the past 4 years:

First Year

It was pretty startling how challenging it was and it took me a while to get my bearings. I had a lot of fun though and it was so exciting to go from college to med school and take classes that were relevant to what I want to be doing with my life.

At Disneyland

Getting our short white coats

Second Year

Second year things got a lot harder. With Boards feeling imminent throughout the year and much tougher classes, it was hard to stay positive. I still had a lot of fun, I ran my first half marathon, became a vegan and started writing.

Fortunately my sisters were always there for me.

Third Year

Third year was tough because it’s such a change from sort of creating my own schedule to being a slave to the expectations of clinical rotations. However, it was also way better because all I’ve ever wanted is to do clinical medicine and finally I got to spend my days with patients. It was tough but great.

Third year banquet

Fourth Year

Everyone says fourth year is the best, and it is. Not only did I finally understand what was expected of me on clinical rotations, but I got to travel for interviews and then do a bunch of fun rotations and close out the year with lots of time with my friends. I also got married, which has been a great decision.

The view from my residency program on my interview day.

The academic year is about to roll over, everyone will advance a year and a new host of responsibilities will come to us all. As part of my graduation as an MD, I must also leave the blog behind to make room for the new voices about to start.

If you have any questions you can always email me at keyoung@llu.edu.

Good luck everyone, and thanks again.

-Kari