Living up to the White Coat

Tiffany, First Year Medical Student

Note: This entry was originally written on August 1, 2013.

Today was one of the proudest days of my life. I was presented with the prestigious white coat. As I listened to the speaker I realized what a big deal receiving this coat really is. Not only does it represent numerous years of hard work in school, it represents a position of power, one that we must not take likely. When you put on a white coat people instantly see you differently. They trust you with their life. As excited as I am to finally be able to wear the white coat that I have dreamed of for years, I am a bit apprehensive. I want to make sure that I stand up to the high level that those previously have set. I never want to give the white coat a bad name.

The funny thing is that they give you the white coat on your first day of orientation. I don’t really feel like I deserve it yet. In fact I have this reoccurring nightmare that someone will see me walking around in the hospital with my white coat on and assume that I know something about treating patients. I am excited to get to wear my white coat when we start our wards experience next week but I am also pretty nervous. I am going to be spending two weeks in the department of Neurology and I know absolutely nothing about the brain…This is going to be an interesting experience. I just hope I don’t let the white coat down. I feel like that may be a reoccurring theme for me, trying not to let people down. Welcome to medical school!

white coat