Step1 | WSMRF | snowman

Janna, Second Year Medical StudentOne more day of tests! Then, second year will be officially 2/3 completed which means only 121 days 12 hrs and 29 minutes and 14 seconds til the looming Step 1. Step 1- it seems like the biggest test of my career. But then again, I felt that way for the SAT, MCAT, my weekly spelling tests in elementary, this set of tests I should be studying for right now, and basically every test I’ve ever taken… which means there will probably be another “biggest” test to come: Step 2?

On another note, I am excited to say I had the opportunity to present a poster and oral presentation at the WSMRF conference in Carmel, CA. There were over 20 students from my class at the conference and some of our mentors even came up like Dr. Blood. We had a great time learning from each other’s posters, attending presentations, and hanging out. It was a mini-vacation!

And, we have another mini-vacation after this test set. Our officers planned a retreat for our class at Camp Cedar Falls. I can’t wait to frolic in the snow with my classmates. Maybe we will build a snowman!

Disclaimer: I didn’t actually calculate the countdown to Step 1, but it’s around there. 🙂

IMG_1113
Nikoleta Brankov presenting her poster to fellow student Casey Harms.

IMG_1119
Michael Giang in front of captive pulmonologists.

 

IMG_1133
Anthony Yeo with mentor Dr. Blood.

IMG_1129 - Copy
Me rolling up the poster.

Screen-Shot-2013-11-12-at-12.32.05-PM
Olaf from Frozen. Maybe we will build a snowman at our Camp Cedar Falls retreat!