My Stroll

Ryan, Third Year Medical StudentNormally, my posts follow a linear story. Today I’m going to break that format and throw you a couple of random things that have been going on lately!

– I vowed I would not do this while writing posts for fear that I would look like I am trying to curry favor with anyone responsible for evaluations. But because I have already finished my rotation in pediatrics, I have got to throw out massive appreciation for Dr. Catalon, my most recent preceptor. Dr. Catalon runs a general pediatric clinic in Moreno Valley, and I had the privilege of rotating under his guidance for 4 weeks. Not only did I learn an incredible amount under his tutelage, I laughed so often I’m pretty sure I added 10 years to my life! The reason I’m sharing this with you is because so often I’m afraid that young pre-med students or other pre-clinical med students have a preconceived notion that attending doctors exist to haze and embarrass med students. Well, that simply is not true! Maybe things were like that in the early history of medical school, but in my experience, things aren’t even close to as awful as they may be dramatized in anecdotes or popular television shows.

Nom nom nom

Out to Lunch with Dr. Catalon

– At long last, the end is finally approaching. With the recent, very successful match completed by the class of 2014, it is finally our turn to begin the process, to begin “Strolling through the Match.” For those who might not know what “The Match” is, it’s the process by which 4th year medical students get jobs for post-graduate training. Even though one is technically considered a full-fledged doctor after graduation, these residency programs are (for the most part) the final step towards becoming a board certified physician. I won’t go in depth about it as many of my fellow bloggers have recently discussed the match in detail, but I’ll revisit the process throughout the year as I get closer and closer to finding out where I will continue my training. So at this point, my classmates and I are making our final decisions as to what specialty we are going into, setting up our senior year schedules, and applying for away rotations (also known as “audition rotations”). And soon after, we’ll begin applying for residency spots and flying all over the country to impress interviewers everywhere. I have 100% affirmed my decision to apply for residencies in Emergency Medicine, and I could not be more excited!

Exciting!

– April Fools’ Day was a week ago, and my wife and I had planned the perfect prank. It seems that everyone and their pet dog announces they have either gotten engaged or become pregnant on April 1st, so not wanting to miss out, we posted this picture:

April Fools!

Preggo?

You might sarcastically be thinking, “Wow Ryan, real creative joke there.” as you roll your eyes and continue reading. But here’s the best part about our joke… it wasn’t a joke! That’s right, I am proud to announce that my wife and I are expecting our first child this coming October!! Brianna told me by giving me a Valentine’s Day gift… little Cincinnati Reds infant onesies. I was absolutely enthralled. And I still am!

Go Reds!

 

Already a Reds Fan!

 

Boy? Girl?

 

13 Weeks

POP

We are SO Excited!

– I am only 10 weeks away from completing the core rotations required for my 3rd year of medical school: 4 weeks of family medicine and 6 weeks of OBGYN. Soon after, I’ll have another onslaught of exams to survive (nay, defeat!), and then 4th year begins with the fun adventure of matching! Stay tuned, many exciting things to come! 🙂